Ghana Association of Visual Artists was established in 1991. It was inaugurated by Hon. Dr. Ben Abdallah who was then the Chairman of the National Commission on Culture.

The first members of the GAVA National Executive Council were;
  • Dr. Emmanuel Christian Nyarkoh – President
  • Mr. Ernest Bediako Owusu – Vice President
  • Mr. (Dr.) Yao Dzamefe – General Secretary
  • Mr. Harry Sammy Cudjoe Fancey – Deputy General Secretary
  • Mrs. Olivia Glime – National Treasurer
  • Mr. Mark Gyebi Nyante – Financial Secretary

These officers were tasked to mobilize members across the ten (10) Regions of Ghana among other responsibilities.

Hence, the officers started work in earnest. However, after a concertted effort in that regard, insurmountable challenges of old age among some of the officers, long absence through incapacity, finance etc. set in and rendered the speedy achievement of that objective a tall order. But in spite of those challenges, the remaining Executives superintended by Mr. (Dr.) Yao Dzamefe did their best in pursuit of that objective, with assistance from the then GAVA Greater Accra Chairmen and Secretary in the persons of Nana Yaw Boakye Ghanatta/ Mr. Daniel Manford and Mr. Samuel Ashong respectively.

After sometime, when a new GAVA Greater Accra Executive led by Mr. Franklin Kynn Glover had assumed office, it became critical as a result of challenges stated earlier, for the National Executive to hand over to 'fresh limbs' in GAVA Greater Accra Region young, vibrant executive to carry on particularly, the national membership mobilization agenda.


In 2007, besides responsibilities as GAVA Greater Accra Executives, an additional mandate of acting as GAVA National Officers and carrying on the critical role of mobilizing members in other Regions of Ghana, was handed over to same, by Dr. Yao Dzamefe (General Secretary) in consultation with the other, surviving GAVA National Executives. They were charged to mobilize members across the country to ensure a GAVA Nationwide presence and strong membership base and organise Congress.

The then, GAVA Greater Accra Executives were as follows;

Mr. Franklin Kynn Glover/ Nana Otuo Owoahene Acheampong
Chairman, GAVA Greater Accra Region
Mr. Ofei Dako ( Deceased)
Vice Chairman
Miss Dela Mensah/ Miss Betty Acquah
Mr. Aubrey Seth Attoh
Mr. Jake Bennett
Executive Member

They have since handed over the their functions as GAVA Greater Accra officers after an election had been conducted in 2017.

However, the outstanding issue regarding National/Regional mobilization which had begun in earnest earlier and had stalled as a result of challenges, subsequently resumed with the acting GAVA National Officers spearheading.

Work has since been progressing steadily since 2017.

In that capacity GAVA has been formed in other Regions of Ghana with corresponding district representation namely;
(Work in progress with the creation of district branches)


  • GAVA Cape Coast District
  • GAVA Komenda Edna Ebirem Aguafo Municipality (KEEA)
  • GAVA Ajumako Enyan District
  • GAVA Swedru District
  • GAVA Nsabaa District
  • GAVA Assin Fosu District
  • GAVA Afransie District
  • GAVA Dunkwa on Offin District
  • GAVA Swedru District
  • GAVA Atimokwa District
  • GAVA Winneba District
  • GAVA Gomoa East District
  • GAVA Apam District

All the above GAVA Central Regional branches have been inaugurated with Regional and District Executives duly elected. The few remaining districts are due to follow suit.


  • GAVA Yilo Krobo Municipal ( Somanya)
  • GAVA Lower Manya Municipal – Odumase Krobo
  • GAVA Upper Manya District – Asesewa
  • GAVA Suhum Municipal
  • GAVA Akuapem North Municipal – Akropong
  • GAVA Kwaebibirim District – Kade
  • GAVA Asuogyaman District
  • GAVA New Juaben Distruct
  • GAVA Akuapem South District (Aburi)
  • GAVA Fanteakwa District – Begoro
  • GAVA East Akyem Municipal (Kyebi)
  • GAVA Kwahu West District ( Nkawkaw)
  • GAVA Birim Central District ( Akim Oda)
  • GAVA West Akyem District ( Asamankese)

All the above GAVA Eastern Regional branches have been inaugurated with Regional and District Executives duly elected. The few remaining districts are due follow suit.


  • GAVA Sekyere South District (Agona)
  • GAVA Bosomtwe District
  • GAVA Ahafo Ano South District
  • GAVA Bekwai Munipal

A few, GAVA Ashanti Regional branches above, have been inaugurated with District Executives duly elected. The remaining districts are due follow suit and ultimately, election of Regional Executive Officers.